Espey Mfg. & Electronics Corp. Recognized with Cogswell Award

Saratoga Springs, NY, June 21, 2012 – Espey Mfg. & Electronics Corp. (NYSE MKT: ESP) was recognized by the Defense Security Service (DSS) with the 2012 James S. Cogswell Outstanding Industrial Security Achievement Awards.

Peggy Murphy, Director HR/Corporate Secretary/Facility Security Officer was presented with the award on June 13, 2012 at the National Classification Management Society Annual Seminar in Orlando, Fla. The Cogswell award is the most prestigious honor that can be bestowed to U.S. Defense cleared contractors.

The Cogswell Award, established in 1966, is named in honor of the late Air Force Col. James S. Cogswell, the first chief of industrial security within the Department of Defense. Cogswell was responsible for developing the basic principles of the Industrial Security Program, which include an emphasis on the partnership between industry and government to protect classified information.The criteria focuses on principles of industrial security excellence, which include establishing and maintaining a security program that far exceeds the basic National Industrial Security Program requirements; and providing leadership to other cleared facilities in establishing best practices while maintaining the highest standards for security.

“Espey is proud to have been chosen for this very prestigious award” said Mark St. Pierre, President and Chief Executive Officer. “It is a reflection of our commitment to our service men and women who rely on advanced technology provided by Espey. This is the second Cogswell that we have received over the last seven years. The award is presented to a very elite group of companies comprised of only less than one percent of over thirteen thousand cleared contractors, including the largest U.S. Defense contractors.”

Espey’s primary business is the development, design, and production of specialized military and industrial power supplies/electronic equipment. The Company’s web site can be found on the internet at


Left to right –
Cheryl Matthew, Regional Operations Manager,  Defense Security Service
Mark St. Pierre, President and CEO, Espey Mfg. & Electronics Corp.
Marcella Beiling, Field Office Chief, Defense Security Service
Maureen Brunick, Special Agent, Industrial Security, Defense Security Service
Peggy Murphy,  Director Human Resources, Corporate Secretary, Facility Security Officer, Espey Mfg. & Electronics Corp.
Todd Shimkus, President, Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce
Spencer Hellwig, Saratoga County Administrator
Christopher Smith, IT Manager, Information System Security Officer, Espey Mfg. & Electronics Corp.
Christine Earls, Asst. Facility Security Officer, Administrative Asst., Espey Mfg. & Electronics Corp.
George Sloan, Asst. Facility Security Officer, Mngr. Environmental Test, Espey Mfg. & Electronics Corp.

For further information, contact Ms. Peggy Murphy or Mr. Mark St. Pierre at (518) 245-4400.

About Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce

The Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce has more than 2,800 members throughout our exceptionally beautiful and historic County. The Chamber hosts and leads a wide range of programs of benefit to our members. We're also a vocal advocate in support of public policies at the local, county, state and federal level that will expand economic opportunity throughout our region.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s