Saratoga Hospital Earns National Recognition for Distinction in Knee and Hip Replacement®

SARATOGA SPRINGS: Saratoga Hospital has been named a Blue Distinction Center for Knee and Hip Replacement® by Blue Cross and Blue Shield.  Saratoga Hospital is the first and only hospital in the Capital Region to be named a Blue Distinction Center (BDC) for this service.

This designation is awarded to hospitals that demonstrate expertise in delivering quality healthcare. The Blue Distinction Center program is designed to help consumers and their doctors make informed choices about where to undergo certain types of procedures. According to a recent survey, 77% of physicians say that such designations matter when choosing a hospital.

Nationwide, 540 facilities have earned the BDC designation for knee and hip replacement. Of those, 23 are in New York State. Only one—Saratoga Hospital—is in the Capital Region.  As such, it is an affirmation of the high caliber of care provided in our new, specialized,
20 bed Orthopedic Center.

To earn the BDC designation, Saratoga Hospital had to demonstrate that it provides high-quality comprehensive orthopedic care, as measured by performance against benchmarks in knee and hip replacement.  Comprehensive care, from patients’ early discussions about
hip or knee replacement through pre-operative education, surgery, and follow-up
rehabilitation, is evaluated. The designation is a validation of the coordinated, personal approach that is a hallmark of Saratoga Hospital and our new Orthopedic Center. Every patient receives individualized care from a team of orthopedic professionals, including physicians, specialized nursing staff, nurse practitioners and rehabilitation and care management professionals.

Saratoga Hospital is the Saratoga region’s leading healthcare provider. The only acute-care facility in Saratoga County, the hospital has a medical staff of over 450 physicians and other credentialed providers, offering care in a broad range of medical specialties. In keeping with its emphasis on quality, Saratoga Hospital was the first in the Capital
Region to earn Magnet Designation for nursing excellence. The hospital achieved
redesignation in 2010.

Hospital facilities include: Saratoga Hospital, Saratoga Care Nursing Home, Wilton Medical Arts, Malta Medical Arts, Saratoga Surgery Center, Mollie Wilmot Radiation Oncology Center, Saratoga Family Physicians, The Saratoga Center for Endocrinology and Diabetes, Saratoga Hospital Pain Management Center, Saratoga Family Health, Schuylerville Family Health and Galway Family Health.

For more information, go to

About Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce

The Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce has more than 2,800 members throughout our exceptionally beautiful and historic County. The Chamber hosts and leads a wide range of programs of benefit to our members. We're also a vocal advocate in support of public policies at the local, county, state and federal level that will expand economic opportunity throughout our region.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s